The Fastmail app and web interface both allow multiple users to be logged in on the same device or browser at the same time. This gives you the convenience of switching between different users without needing to log out.
Switch users in the Fastmail app
The Switch User screen can be found in the Fastmail app by clicking the dropdown menu in the upper left corner, then selecting Switch User. From this screen, you can:
- See what users are logged in on your device
- Switch between these users by clicking on the user you wish to use
- Log in to another user by clicking Log in as another user.
Notification settings can be customized for each user by going to Settings → Notifications. Customize your notification sounds, or choose which senders or folders should get notifications.
If you are logged in as more than one user, each notification will show the display name of the user receiving the email or calendar reminder. The display name is what is displayed in the upper left header of your screen. To change the display name for your user:
- Go to Settings → Preferences
- Scroll down and click Show advanced preferences
- Tap the field labeled Display name to edit.
The app’s icon badge showing the number of unread emails will display differently depending on your device’s operating system. On iOS devices, if your icon badge is enabled, it will show the total of unread mail in the Inbox for all logged in users. On Android devices, this may vary. Some will show the total of unread mail in the Inbox for all logged in users, while others will show a circle or no badge icon at all.
Switch users in a web browser
The Switch User screen can be found in the Fastmail web interface by clicking the dropdown menu in the upper left corner, then selecting Switch User. Going to
www.fastmail.com while logged in as any user will also bring you to the Switch User screen. From here, you can:
- See what users are currently logged in on your browser
- Switch between these users by simply clicking on the user you wish to access
- Log in to a new user by clicking Log in as another user.
If your user has browser notifications enabled, the notifications will appear if that user has a Fastmail tab open. The notification will show the sender’s name, but it will not show the display name for the user.
Switch users when creating a support ticket
When submitting a ticket to Fastmail customer support, the current user will be displayed above the ticket form. This is the email address that will receive responses to the ticket from Fastmail support team, and the ticket will be associated with this user’s ticket history for future reference.
If you need to submit a ticket for a different user, click the button that says Log in as another user. This will bring you to the Switch User page.