Sharing calendars: to the world

This page is about sharing calendars to the general public. If you want to share calendars with other users in your account, view our business sharing guide.

Any calendar in your account can be published (read-only) to anyone on the web via a 'public calendar URL'.

Share your calendar

Public calendar URLs can be used to share the information in one of your calendars with someone else, even if they use a different calendar system. There are two different URLs you can choose to share: one links to the full details of each event in the calendar; the other only reveals the times you are busy, but does not contain any information about the events themselves.

To enable the public URL for a calendar in your account:

  1. Open the Settings → Calendars screen.
  2. Find the calendar in the list and click the Edit & Share button.
  3. Tick the checkbox to enable full event and/or free-busy sharing. A URL will be shown: copy this URL and give it to the people you wish to share your calendar data with. The URL becomes active as soon as you click Save Changes. You can deactivate it again from the same screen.

The URLs are unguessable, but can be shared by whoever knows them to give another person access to the same information. If a URL gets shared with someone who shouldn't have it, you can use the Reset URL button to change to a new unguessable URL.

Add someone else's calendar

To add a public calendar URL that someone has shared with you to your account:

  1. Open the Settings → Calendars screen.
  2. At the bottom, select the option to Subscribe to a public calendar.
  3. Paste the URL you were given into the text box that appears.
  4. Choose a colour and give the calendar a name.
  5. Click Create Calendar.

We have a list of popular public calendars for things like public holidays.