How to share your calendars

There are two different ways you may be able to share your FastMail calendar with other people. All users can get public calendar URLs that can be used to share a calendar (read-only) with other people both at FastMail and other calendar providers. Business and family accounts can also share calendars directly with other members of the business, and can grant write-access to the calendar.

Public calendar URLs

Public calendar URLs can be used to share the information in one of your calendars with someone else, even if they use a different calendar system. There are two different URLs you can choose to share: one links to the full details of each event in the calendar; the other only reveals the times you are busy, but does not contain any information about the events themselves.

To enable the public URL for a calendar in your account:

  1. Open the Settings → Calendar screen.
  2. Find the calendar in the list and click the Edit & Share button.
  3. Tick the checkbox to enable full event and/or free-busy sharing. A URL will be shown: copy this URL and give it to the people you wish to share your calendar data with. The URL becomes active as soon as you click Save Changes. You can deactivate it again from the same screen.

The URLs are unguessable, but can be shared by whoever knows them to give another person access to the same information. If a URL gets shared with someone who shouldn't have it, you can use the Reset URL button to change to a new unguessable URL.

To add a public calendar URL that someone has shared with you to your account:

  1. Open the Settings → Calendar screen.
  2. At the bottom, select the option to Subscribe to a public calendar.
  3. Paste the URL you were given into the text box that appears.
  4. Choose a colour and give the calendar a name.
  5. Click Create Calendar.

Business or family sharing

Business (and family) accounts can also share calendars directly with other users in the business. The other user must also be at the same domain as you (i.e. the part of their email address after the @ must be the same as yours). Sharing can be controlled more precisely than with public calendar URLs, and the other users can be given permission to edit the calendar, not just read it.

To share a calendar with someone else in your business:

  1. Open the Settings → Calendar screen.
  2. Find the calendar in the list and click the Edit & Share button.
  3. In the text box under Share this calendar with other people in my business, type in the email address(es) of the person or people you wish to share the calendar with. Autocomplete suggestions will help make this quick to do.
  4. Select the level of access you wish to grant. The options are:

    • see all event details
    • see and edit all events
    • see/edit events and manage sharing
  5. Click the green Add button.

The calendar will now appear in the accounts of the people you shared it with. If you gave them write-access, they will be able to create new events, or modify and delete existing ones. Otherwise, all events in the calendar will be read-only.

You can revoke a user's access to a shared calendar at any time by going back to the same screen.