Restore deleted items
Fastmail has a Restore tool that allows you to recover deleted items.
Currently, you can retrieve the following items after they have been deleted:
- contacts and contact groups
- calendar events
If you want to restore deleted messages, check your Trash folder first. Deleting a message in most instances simply moves it to Trash. You can sort by date of deletion to quickly find a message you just deleted, even if the message itself is quite old, and use the Undelete button to return it to the folder where it was previously located.
To run the Restore tool:
- Go to the Settings → Restore screen.
- Check the box next to the items you want to restore.
- Select either:
- Just restore deleted: This option only restores items that have been deleted in the chosen time frame. All other items will be left unchanged.
- Undo all changes: This option restores your items to the state they were in at the chosen time frame. New items will be removed and any edits to existing items will be undone.
- Choose a time to restore from using the dropdown menu.
- Click the Do it button.
You'll see a green tick(s) next to the item(s) listed under the Confirm heading.
The greyed out Done button at the bottom of the page means that your restore was successful.