No credit card is required to sign up for a trial account. In order to stop trial accounts being abused for the purposes of spam, we do ask for your mobile phone number, so we can send a verification code via SMS. This lets us know you're a real human.
A trial account is the same as a Standard account, with a lowered limit on the amount of messages you may send to prevent abuse. A trial account also cannot create websites, forward rules, or custom Sieve rules.
You can add as many users as you want within your account, but only the first five will be active. The additional users are disabled until the account is subscribed to a paid plan. This lets you prepare all your users so you don't have any split billing.
A trial account can have a maximum of five aliases. The aliases cannot be deleted or changed.
Users who have not verified their account via SMS cannot download their emails via IMAP or POP.
Unverified users also cannot see the contents of certain emails via our web interface. We block reading certain emails to prevent spammers and scammers from abusing our trial accounts to make spare accounts on other services. If you need to see the contents of these emails, please verify your account using SMS or become a paid member.
Upgrading to a Plan
You can upgrade to a paid plan at any time during your trial. Any days remaining in your trial will be added for free to the end of your subscription. You can choose which plan to subscribe to, and you are able to upgrade or downgrade at any time as your needs change.
Expired trial accounts
Trial accounts lose their ability to send and receive mail if they are not paid for at the end of the trial period. Shortly after, the account is disabled and eventually deleted.