Upgrade or downgrade your account

Your needs may change, which is why at Fastmail you can upgrade or downgrade your account plan at any time. Please see our pricing table for a comprehensive list of the differences between our plans.

Account administrators can upgrade or downgrade an account:

  1. Open the screen.
  2. Under the Upgrade/Downgrade section, select the plan you want to move to and click the Upgrade or Downgrade button.
  3. Choose your new subscription length and follow the instructions if payment is required.

This will change all users within the account to the newly selected plan.

It will not be possible to downgrade your account if you are using features that are not available on the plan you wish to downgrade to, such as archiving or using a custom domain.

Supported payment types

We accept payments from Visa, MasterCard and American Express credit cards, or via PayPal (minimum charge amount of $3/transaction).

Debit cards work as long as they belong to the Visa or MasterCard network, however prepaid-only cards usually do not work. You are welcome to try, but unfortunately, despite advertising themselves as Visa or MasterCard, they often behave differently.

We can not process cash, checks, direct bank transfers, wire transfers, or Bitcoin.

Credit for unused subscription

When you upgrade or downgrade your account, we will take the amount you paid for your previous plan and credit the unused percentage of that towards your new subscription. If this credit is more than the cost of your new subscription, the remaining credit is added to your billing pool and will be put towards any future renewals.

Upgrading from a legacy plan

If you're on a legacy plan, you're welcome to upgrade to our new plans at any time. There are some additional steps to complete before we can switch you over.