Managing users as an admin

An account administrator (or admin) is the only one who can add, change, or remove users from an account. Adding a user to your account automatically makes you the admin for that user. An account can have more than one admin.

You can manage users on your account from the Settings → Users & Aliases screen. You will need to unlock the screen by entering your password before you can make any changes.

Adding users

From the Users & Aliases screen, click the green New User button under the Users heading, then fill in the fields:

You can also check off additional privacy, admin, and retention options for the new user.

When you're done, click the green Purchase button to finish creating the user. The button will show the cost of the user that you will be automatically billed for, pro-rated to the end of your current subscription.

Editing users

From the user list, select one or more users and click Edit.

The fields that an admin can edit for a user are as follows:

If a single user is selected, you can update any of the user's fields and manage their quota.

If multiple users are selected, you can only simultaneously update the following fields for the selected users:

Removing users

To remove users, select one or more users from the user list, and click the Delete button at the top. You will need to confirm by typing DELETE into the prompt that appears.

This process cannot be reversed. It will permanently remove all mail, contacts, and calendars for the deleted user. Any shared folders or shared calendars owned by this user will be removed from their shared locations.

The account will be given a pro-rated credit to the end of the subscription for the deleted user.

You cannot delete yourself from the user list. If you wish to delete your entire account, go to the screen and use the Close Account section at the bottom. You will need to delete all users on your account before you can delete the entire account.

Adding extra email storage quota

If you don't have enough email storage, you can add extra storage to your account. Account administrators can also add extra email storage to the users in their account.

Each time you add email storage, you're adding the equivalent cost of an additional user to your account. You can buy up to three times your original plan's storage quota for a user. For a single user account, it may be cheaper to upgrade your planl and gain the additional features along with the extra quota.

To add email storage to a user's quota, go to Settings → Users & Aliases and select the user by clicking the gray Edit button. Click the gray button that says "Add GB Mail + GB Files to Quota". (The gray button will tell you how much quota you are adding to your account, based on your plan.) Click the Save button to save these changes. If you add storage, your account is automatically billed after saving the changes.

To decrease storage for the user's quota, go to Settings → Users & Aliases and select the user by clicking the gray Edit button. Click the gray button that says "Decrease Quota". Click the Save button to save these changes. If you decrease storage, your account will be partially credited a prorated amount, according to how much time is left in your current subscription.

Note: Setting quota on multiple users at one time will set all selected users to the same storage amount. After setting the quota for multiple users, you can decrease the storage amount if needed.

Managing user access

Account administrators can manage the access their users have to their account.