Changes to shared folders
The JMAP platform changes a great deal about how shared folders are created and operated. This help page details the differences between the old sharing system and the current system, introduced in 2018.
About the changes
Folder sharing has been greatly simplified on the new interface.
Folders can now be shared from the moment of creation, directly from the Settings → Folders screen. Sharing permissions have been simplified into three categories:
- This user can only view.
- This user can make changes.
- This user can make changes and share.
For details on how these permissions relate to the old permissions, see Permission changes.
Users can now view and edit settings for shared folders directly in the Settings → Folders screen.
In most cases, the permissions will be updated as follows:
|Old permissions||New permissions|
||Make changes and share|