How to organise your mail with rules

You can automatically perform actions on your mail as it is delivered to your account, such as filing them into a folder, or forwarding them to another account. Once rules are built via the web interface, they continue to function even if you then access your mail via a client.

A rule is built up from a (set of) conditions and the actions to take when a message matches.

Rules only apply to new mail as it arrives. (It is not possible at this time to run a rule over existing mail.)


Creating a new rule

There are two ways to create a new rule:

  1. Build a new rule based on the current message
  2. Create a new rule via the Settings → Rules screen.

Building rules from the current message

When viewing a message, use the More button, then the Add Rule from Message... option to access the screen. This lets you quickly build a rule based on the sender, recipient, subject or mailing list identifier of the current message.

The "condition" section lets you choose when this rule is in effect. You can build the condition from multiple aspects of a message, choosing whether all conditions must be met, any (at least one) condition must be met or none (the rule triggers any time that none of the conditions are true).

The "action" section lets you choose what will happen to a message if it meets the rule conditions.

Selecting the condition lets you change or choose what the condition will test, based on the current message. The possible values will automatically adjust, based on the condition selected.

Once the rule is created and saved, you can find the rule in the Settings → Rules screen, where it can be updated.

Building rules in the Settings screen

To configure rules or build a new rule from scratch, open the Settings → Rules screen. There are three sections:

  1. Discard — if a message matches any of the rules you add in this section, it will automatically be permanently deleted and you will never see it. No further rules will be processed, even if they would have otherwise applied to the message.

    For extra safety if you use discard rules, tick the option "Do not discard messages sent by my contacts". This will help make sure you don't accidentally discard important email.

  2. Forward — redirect all or some of your email to another account. If you select the option to delete the message, the message will be permanently deleted from your account after it has been forwarded, unless an "Organise" rule applies to the message. In this case, it will be delivered to the appropriate folder as specified by the Organise rule.

  3. Organise — Divert incoming messages to a folder other than the Inbox, and/or automatically mark them as read or pinned. These rules are tried in the order they are created: only the first one to match applies to the message. You can drag and drop rules to change the order.

For advanced users with complex needs, use the edit custom Sieve code link to access the Sieve management page.

Lots of rules? Use the search bar to locate the one you want for easy, fast filtering.

Rule conditions

When you discard, forward or organise your mail, you create a rule that only applies to messages which match a set of conditions.

Conditions can be combined within a single rule. Either:

Each condition can examine a different part of a message:

The tests to match against a value is tailored. You will see some of:

Rule actions

Once the rule condition has been met, the rule action is applied to the message.

You can